That awkward moment when…


You know those “That awkward moment when…” posts? And how they’re never actually awkward, but they’re still generally relatable? Have you ever thought about why that is?

Well, I have! I think we refer to them as “awkward” because of the particular feeling we get when these things happen. I mean, in general, the person to whom the “awkward moment” happens is the only person who notices it. For example:

That awkward moment when you realize that you are legitimately in love with a picture.

That’s one I took from tumblr, brought to us by “the-muffington-post”, who, as far as I can tell, is a completely unawkward theatre kid with bad taste in music.

But anyhow, the moment above is not awkward at all. Your response to that situation isn’t going to be awkward. Literally nobody except for The Muffington Post will know what just happened. But it is a little bit shameful. And that’s what “that awkward moment when” really is. Something we’re ashamed has happened, regardless of its awkwardness.

Here’s another:

That awkward moment when 14 year olds on tumblr have more followers than you…….
 That’s from thesmilewithin on tumblr, a teenage girl who apparently likes rage comics. That’s not awkward (obviously. It’s preceded by “that awkward moment when”), but it is something which I guess TheSmile feels ashamed of.
I know I’m not the first to say that “awkward moments” aren’t actually awkward, and I know it’s getting really boring listening to people pointing it out, but I made this post because I don’t think people have really looked beyond “that’s not awkward lol” to why we call it awkward. (Uh, the shame thing. Awkward.)
Leave a Reply

