TV Journalism and Me


So I’m in journalism school, as I’m sure many of you are aware. I came to j-school pretty much entirely for the writing. I wanted to learn to interview and write and report. What I did not come here to do is be on TV.

TV journalism is totally valid, and super important, but it’s not for me. Being in front of the camera kind of freaks me out. I don’t know where to look, or what to do with my hands, or how to stand without looking awkward. Me on TV would just be a bad scene. However, being in journalism school, I’ll have to face that fear and try and put all o’ this perfection up on camera.

For that reason, I’ve decided that I should start making Youtube videos. That way, I’ll familiarize myself with being in front of a camera, and hopefully become more comfortable with it. I’ll be used to talking to a lens, instead of to a person.

I’ve figured out now that I probably want to do vlogs, but I’ve got to figure out what about. So yeah. There’s an update-y thing.

Leave a Reply

