BEDA 6 – On Hiking


I messed up. It’s 12:30. But I haven’t slept yet, so it’s definitely still the sixth day of April! We’ve got this! I won’t fail!

Anyways, today my parents and I went on a really lovely hike (read: glorified walk). We went up to Cootes Paradise, which was great. It was perfect for early spring. There were these trees (cherry, I think?) with gorgeous pink blossoms, but no leaves. And the trunks were thick and worn; you could tell the trees were old. It really felt like springtime, even though none of the trees or bushes had leaves yet.

One thing that I really dislike about living in Toronto is that hiking is less possible. Great paths aren’t as accessible there as they are here (although I plan on going over to the Don Valley before the end of school in a few weeks). I love the “urban hiking” that I do in the city, but I miss being surrounded by trees and nature and benches.

I’ve never thought of myself as outdoorsy. I’m not athletic. I’m scared of bees. I burn easily. But sometimes, you just crave a good hike. That happened to me, a few months ago. I was lying in bed at, like, 1 a.m., and I got really, really sad, because I wanted to go on a hike. I just really wanted to be in a forrest.

But anyways, Sunday I’ll be hiking again. This time in Waterloo! Plus, I have it on good authority that instead of chocolate, the Easter Bunny’s gonna be bringing me a Sephora gift card. So that’ll be nice.

Leave a Reply

